Star Awards 2022

We are pleased to announce the winners of our Trust recognition event The Star Awards.

Our judges were tasked with a difficult job when it came to shortlisting for the 14 categories this year.

Well done to all our winners and nominees.

To read about the event click here:

See the full list of winners below:

  • Employee of the Year: Andrew Churm
  • Non-clinical Team of the Year: Portering
  • Clinical Team of the Year: Vaccination Team
  • Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Award: Afrah Muflihi
  • Distinguished Service Award: Siten Roy
  • Prize for Transformation and Research: Shivan Pancham
  • Volunteer of the Year: Michael Reay
  • Patient Safety Award: Justine Irish
  • Learner of the Year: Grace Hughes
  • Sustainability Award: Rhea Conn
  • Rising Star Award: Jason Yap
  • Quality of Care Award: Blue Team District Nurses
  • Partnerships with the Community Award: Integrated Discharge Hub
  • Special Recognition Award: Emergency Department

Please see below shortlisted nominees.

Distinguished Service

  • Jacqueline Coffield – A&E Receptionist
  • Jayne Evans – Transfusion Officer
  • Rose Butler – Sister
  • Siten Roy – Group Director Surgical Services

Equality Diversity and Inclusion

  • Amber Markham – Group director of nursing
  • Afrah Muflihi – Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Lead Midwife
  • Corrine Dacosta – Advanced neonatal nurse practitioner
  • Women’s Clinician Network

Learner of the Year

  • Children’s Speech and Language
  • Denise Andrews – Ward Clerk
  • Grace Hughes – Medical Secretary
  • Meera Seniaray – Specialist Community Public Health Nurse

Partnerships with the Community Award

  • Ladies fighting breast cancer
  • Integrated Discharge Hub
  • Living Well Team
  • Neonatal Community Outreach Team

Patient Safety Award

  • Denise Owen – Deputy Clinical Directorate Lead
  • Justine Irish – Matron
  • Maternity / Governance
  • Ward based pharmacy technicians

Prize for Transformation and Research

  • Sarbjit Clare MBE – Deputy Medical Director
  • Shivan Pancham – Consultant Haematology
  • Palliative Care Team

Rising Star Award

  • Carmen Nuttall – Neonatal Community Outreach Team Leader
  • Jason Yap – Consultant
  • Scott Shenton – Infection Prevention and Control Support officer
  • Simon Lines – Matron

Sustainability Award

  • Cancer Services
  • Pharmacy Team
  • Procurement
  • Rhea Conn – Senior Sister

Volunteer of the Year

  • Christine Billson
  • Jennifer Asaju
  • Michael Reay
  • Robert Kingston

Voted for categories: Don’t forget that you choose the winners in the following 3 categories. You will be able to vote online via Connect until 2 September.

Employee of the Year

  • Andy Churm – Matron
  • Ayman Ewies – Consultant
  • Cathy Brown – Associate Director for Education & Workforce
  • Mike Blaber – Consultant

Non-clinical team of the year

  • IT Incident management team
  • Portering
  • Security
  • Widening Participation Team

Clinical Team of the Year

  • Clinical Nurse Practitioners
  • Infection Prevention and Control Team
  • Intermediate Care (ACP at Your Health Partnership)
  • Vaccination Team