The Star Awards 2021

The shortlist is revealed

Once again we are pleased to announce the shortlist for the Star Awards – Sandwell and West Birmingham NHS Trust’s  annual awards, where we recognising some of the best healthcare professionals in the region who work at City, Sandwell and Rowley Regis Hospitals, our GP surgeries, Your Health Partnership and Leasowes Intermediate Care Centre.

Once again COVID-19 has played a part in some of the nominations, but certainly not all of them as we’ve once again seen a large number of nominations from colleagues, patients and relatives all keen to acknowledge the help teams and individuals have offered across our organisation.

Employee of the Year (Voted For)

  • Julie Booth, Deputy Director of Infection Prevention & Control
  • Lorraine Pace, Ward Clerk
  • Paulette Duzan, Community Matron – Health Visiting
  • Zaheer Iqbal, Portering Manager


Clinical Team of the Year – Adults (Voted For)

  • Acute Respiratory Hub & Physiology Team
  • COVID Intensive Care Team
  • Leasowes Intermediate Care Centre


Clinical Team of the Year – Children (Voted For)

  • Children’s Speech and Language Team
  • Health Visiting Team
  • School Nursing Service


Non Clinical Team of the Year (Voted for)

  • Volunteer Bereavement Befriending Service
  • Medical Engineering
  • Performance and Insight
  • Ward Services


New Leader

  • Adrian Bradbury, Theatre Manager
  • Andy Torrance, Colorectal Consultant
  • Vanessa Taylor, Matron/Lead Nurse

Volunteer of the Year

  • Anand Arora, Consultant (Anaesthetics)
  • Micheal Reay, Volunteer
  • Volunteer Befriending Team

Fundraiser of the Year: Sponsored by Your Trust Charity

  • Cancer Services
  • Kishor Vadhia
  • Sarah Fletcher, Community Engagement Manager (Balfour Beatty)


Distinguished Service Award

  • Jan Clarke, Head of Support Services (retired)
  • John Paul Birch, Advanced Operating Department Practitioner
  • Jonha Rizkalla, ED Consultant (retired)
  • William Thomson, Head of Physics and Nuclear Medicine (retired)


Prize for Innovation: Sponsored by Siemens Healthineers   

  • Children’s Therapy & Nursing   
  • Diagnostic Radiology
  • Paediatric Diabetes


Patient Safety Award

  • Breast Screening Team
  • Homeless Patient Pathway Team
  • Louise Fisher, Community Children’s Nurse


Prize for Integrated Care Pioneer of the Year

  • Integrated Discharge Hub
  • Occupational Therapy (Childrens)
  • School Nursing Team

Learner of the Year

  • Acute Medicine Team
  • Brinderjit Rai, PMO Administrative Assistant
  • Mayur Patel, Bowel Cancer Screening Administrator


Award for Equality and Diversity Champion

  • High Risk Birth Preparations Team
  • Medical Infusion Suite
  • The Women Clinicians Network


Excellence in Research Prize

  • Dermatology
  • Farooq Wandroo, Consultant (Haematology)
  • Shaun Johns, Radiopharmacy Operational Manager


Excellence in Education Prize

  • Critical Care Education Team
  • Kathryn Dunn, Physiotherapist
  • Mohammed Mian, ENT Consultant


The ‘Green’ Award: Sponsored by E-Bike Brum

  • Alcohol Care Team
  • Pharmacy
  • Sharnaz Akhtar, Health Care Assistant


Digital Leader of the Year

  • Kay Baker, Team Leader – S&LT
  • Nicole Miles, Neonatal Unit Discharge Planner
  • Pamela Towers, Deputy Head of Medical Records


Quality of Care Award

  • Breast Surgery Team
  • Gynaecology
  • Naraish Bangerd


Local Primary Care Award for the Most Valued Service in the Trust

  • Primary Care Network Vaccination Hub
  • Sandra Whitelock, HLP Primary Care Manager
  • First Contact Practitioner Team


Thank you to our 2021 sponsors