Outstanding NHS staff win awards

22nd Oct 2013

Local Comedienne Mrs Barbara Nice (aka Janice Connolly) hosted the ceremony while the Lord Mayor of Birmingham Councillor Mike Leddy and Mayor of Sandwell Councillor Linda Horton were among those presenting the trophies to staff fromSandwelland West Birmingham Hospitals NHS Trust (SWBH).

The awards, held at Aston Villa Football Club on Friday October 18, aim to recognise excellence and highlight the contribution individuals and teams are making to improve patient care in 13 categories.

Rehabilitation Support Worker Lisa South scooped the Excellence in Customer Care Award, which is voted for by patients, visitors, carers and members of the public.

Lisa was nominated by patient Janet McKnight, formerly of Great Barr but now living in Bromsgove, who she helped with her recovery after suffering a stroke.

“Lisa is an outstanding member of staff,” Janet explained. “She has the incredible ability to lift your spirits, even on the darkest days, with her smile and sensitivity.

“She listens and understands that some days you struggle, so modifies her treatment to get the best out of you.

“She is such a special person. Always punctual, always caring, always conscientious, she is a credit to the NHS.”

Runners-up were Nayna Patel, Patient Support Centre Manager, who was nominated by patient Vivian Skidmore and the Oncology Unit, nominated by cancer patient Mary Hardwick, from Selly Park.

Winner of the Employee of the Year Award, sponsored by Carillion, was Angela Hook, Ward Clerk, D29 at City Hospital. Angela is described as being constantly attentive to the needs of patients, staff and visitors alike – she never passes by a patient in need and is on hand with a welcome cuppa for staff too.

Scooping the Clinical Team of the Year Award, sponsored by Wing Yip, was the Breast Care Nursing Team, that provide advice, education and support for patients with breast cancer.

Praised by patients and clinicians alike, the team have also developed the popular ‘moving forward programme’, demand for which comes from trusts and patients far and wide.

Taking the title for Non Clinical Team of the Year were the Ward Service Officers who strive to provide the highest level of service possible with regards to both cleanliness and serving food to patients, dealing with what are often less than pleasant situations, at any hour of the day or night.

Lifting the trophy for Staff and Patient Engagement were staff from ward Priory 2 at Sandwell Hospital who were praised for introducing a number of initiatives including planned ‘quiet time’ for patients and daily and weekly ‘walkabouts’ with a ward co-ordinator and matron.

The judges were so impressed with the quality of the entries for the Patient Experience Award that they chose two winners – Matron Fiona Green and Consultant Midwife Kathryn Gutteridge.

Fiona was described as being ‘the embodiment of all a good nurse should be and is always positive and enthusiastic’.

While Kathryn was recognised for her work to ensure that all women and families have the same opportunity for the best possible birth experience by creating the Trust’s two nationally recognised midwife-led birth centres – Serenity and Halcyon.

The winner of the Patient Safety Award were staff from the D21 and D25 Inpatient Team for embracing the national strategy to drive innovation and demonstrating how it can improve the quality and safety of patient care.

Being commended for her 35 years in nursing was Lifetime Achievementwinner Joan Samuels, Children’s

Palliative Care Nurse. Known for her sense of humour, humanity and compassion in providing care to children in the end stages of their lives and support to their families when they are at their lowest ebb.

Picking up the New Leader Award was Jas Chahal, Alcohol Specialist Nurse, described as ‘a role model to others who shows professionalism at all times and has the patient at the heart of all she does.’

The winner of the Outstanding Leadership Award went to Consultant Dr Sarbjit Clare, from the Medical Assessment Unit at City Hospital. Her inspirational example makes her a favourite with junior doctors,  with one, Dr Kathryn Basnayake, saying watching her work “is like observing art in motion and she makes me understand why I love medicine.”

Winners of the  Transformation Award was the Learning Works team, whose pioneering work is helping local people of all ages achieve their career ambitions, benefitting individuals, the community and ultimately the Trust and all its patients.

The Clinical Effectiveness Award was presented to the Haematology Research Team who provide leukaemia and lymphoma patients with the chance to access novel and experimental treatments which have the potential to make a difference to patients across the world.

The Innovation Award was won by the Mortality Review Team for its ground-breaking work to support the Trust in its crusade for the highest levels of patient safety.

The Trust’s Gastroenterology, Breast Unit and Gynaeoncology services were also awarded trophies at the

ceremony after being awarded ‘Beacon Status’ – for demonstrating not only that they are excellent at what they do but that they provide a scope of service beyond that of their peers; are innovative in their use of technology; have a reputation at national or international levels; are a place from which others can learn and have a culture of continuous improvement.

SWBH Chief Executive Toby Lewis said: “We have a great deal to be proud of in the care that we provide at the Trust.

“Each year 1.5 million patients meet one of our members of staff at 150 locations in the area.

“More than 300 of our highest achieving employees were at the awards on Friday and it was a privilege, alongside the Mayors of both Birmingham and Sandwell, to be able to celebrate their service and their very many successes.

“The best of what we already do at the Trust is what we are striving to try and offer our patients in every service every day – fantastic teamwork, compassionate care, and the best possible outcomes.”

To view photos from the event, please click here

To view the souvenir Staff Awards 2013 programme click here


Back to News Stories