Nurses and midwives recognised at Trust awards

16th May 2024

Nurses and midwives at Sandwell and West Birmingham NHS Trust were highlighted for their dedication and compassionate care during two awards ceremonies.

The events, held at City Hospital, saw more than 150 staff shortlisted for various accolades which included a Green Award, Team of the Year and Midwife and Nurse of the Year.

You can find the full list of winners for both ceremonies below.

Nurses Award Winners:

  • The Green Award winner is Sophie Ward, Sister in the Cardiac Cath Lab.
  • Hayley Cresswell was awarded the SWB Family Facebook for raising awareness through social media about measles and strep A.
  • Michelle Wright picked up the Fundamentals of Care Award for her improving the patient experience.
  • Carol Zullo, Senior Sister, is the winner of the People Award – she introduced the boredom busting trolley for dementia patients.
  • The Patient Award goes to Clare Smith for her outstanding levels of care to our patients.
  • The Population Award was given to the School Nursing Team.
  • The Nurse of the Year Award goes to Abbie Millard who has recently stepped up as ward manager.
  • Aaron Bertram-Miller has scooped the Nurse Associate of the Year award for his dedication and ambition in rising through the ranks.
  • Healthcare Assistant (HCA) of the Year goes to Kirsty Jordon, who goes above and beyond to support her fellow HCAs.
  • The Advanced Nurse Practitioner of the Year goes to Amita Sherait, who was nominated for her drive and determination within our frailty team and to continuously improve the service.
  • The Your Health Partnership Practice team scooped Team of the Year.

Midwives Award Winners:

  • The Green Award winner is Elly Sutch who has improved how patients give feedback.
  • Nazmeen Bibi has scooped the SWB Family Facebook award for educating parents via social media.
  • Picking up the Fundamentals of Care prize is Helena Nguyen for her work on improving the patient experience.
  • The winner of the People Award is Nicola Tomkins for developing and improving the services within our communities.
  • Sandra Martin has gone above and beyond for our expected mums-to-be – and so picks up the Patient Award.
  • The Population Award was given to Afrah Muflihi.
  • The Midwife of the Year Award goes to Claire Whitehouse. She continuously demonstrates our Trust values every day. 
  • The Associate Midwife of the Year was awarded to Shannon Ashworth.
  • Finally, the Community Midwifery team at Sandwell have scooped the award for Team of the Year.
Back to News Stories