NHS staff praised for dedication at Trust awards

11th Oct 2019

More than 100 employees at an NHS Trust were recognised for their dedication, care and hard work in a glittering awards ceremony.

The Star Awards, held on 11 October, celebrated the best of the best of the workforce from Sandwell and West Birmingham NHS Trust, which runs City, Sandwell and Rowley Regis Hospital and Leasowes Intermediate Care Centre.

Specialist Trainer Richard Burnell was crowned Employee of the Year thanks to a staff vote.

Meanwhile A&E Staff Nurse Carroll Brashier scooped the Distinguished Service Award, after being described as dedicated and going above and beyond in her duties. She has been employed at the Trust for more than 20 years and works hard to ensure the best outcome for every patient she cares for.

ITV weatherman Des Coleman hosted the event, which boasted a Greatest Showman circus theme. Entertainment included stilt walkers, contortionists and a light show.

Pride of Birmingham winner Sally Gutteridge scooped Fundraiser of the Year. Despite being diagnosed with cancer, the mum has continued to raise money for Your Trust Charity, which is run by the NHS Trust.

Whilst midwife Joanne Simpson was given the award for Equality and Diversity Champion, following her work with pregnant Albanian asylum seekers, a number of whom have been sex-trafficked. As a result they represent some of the most traumatised and vulnerable patients Joanne works with.

Richard Samuda, Chairman for the Trust, said: “The Star Awards ceremony is the perfect way to recognise the amazing work our staff do throughout the year and we have had a fantastic evening celebrating.

“We have had a staggering amount of nominations which speaks volumes about our workforce and the standard of care they give to our patients. Whilst congratulating those who have made it through to the shortlist, I’d also like to take the opportunity to honour all of our colleagues who were nominated for the awards.”

The event is fully funded by sponsors who include the University of Wolverhampton, the HCI Group, and Siemens Healthineers.

The full list of winners are below, along with a video from their nominator explaining why they deserved their award.

New Leader
Janice Barrett

Digital Leader of the Year
Andy Churm

Volunteer of the Year
Manish Pandit

Prize for Innovation
Coronary Artery Disease Management Team

Excellence in Education Prize
Manoj Sikand

Fundraiser of the Year
Sally Gutteridge

Award for Equality and Diversity Champion
Joanne Simpson

Learner of the Year
Security Team

Distinguished Service Award
Carroll Brashier

Patient Safety Award
Sarah Oley

Excellence in Research Prize
Sarah Clamp

2020 Vision Prize for Integrated Care Pioneer of the Year
Alcohol Team

Green Award
Cancer Services

Local Primary Care Award for the Most Valued Service in the Trust
Friar Park District Nursing team

Quality of Care
Ajay Hira

Chairman’s Award for Notable Contribution to the Local Health and Social Care System
Dottie Tipton

Non-Clinical Team of the Year
Medical Education Team

Clinical Team of the Year (Children’s)
Domestic Abuse Team

Clinical Team of the Year (Adults)
Critical Care and Critical Care Follow Up

Employee of the Year
Richard Burnell


Back to News Stories