The Star Awards 2023

We are pleased to announce the shortlist for the Star Awards – recognising some of the best healthcare professionals in the region who work at City, Sandwell and Rowley Regis Hospitals, our GP surgeries, Your Health Partnership and Leasowes Intermediate Care Centre.

See below our shortlisted individuals and teams for the event which will take place in October. We’ll be updating this page and our social media channels on the night, bringing you news of all the winners.

Clinical Team of the Year Award 

Sickle Cell and Thalassaemia Centre 
Rapid Response Therapy Services team 
Urgent Community Response team  
Cancer Hotline team 
IBEDS Wards PCCT team 

Distinguished Service Award 

Bridget Pennington-Wilson, heath visitor 
Ruth Francis, midwife 
Verna White 

Employee of the Year Award 

Dr Huma Naqvi   Ortho-Geriatric Consultant 
Jade Reberio (Advanced Clinical Practitioner in Urology) 
Rajeev Pathak, Operations Manager – Contact Centre, YHP PCN 
Sue Hunt (Palliative and end of life clinical Service Manager) 
Mrs Susan Edwards, Lead Bereavement Nurse 

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Award 

Bowel Cancer Screening Health Promotion team 
Indu Mahabeer, Isabel Cowling, Menik Upatissa, Michelle Fleeman 
Janice Nelson 

Learner of the Year Award 

David Cartwright, STP Student, Respiratory Physiology 
Emma Hibbs 
Lisa Williams  

Non-Clinical Team of the Year Award 

Chaplaincy team 
Single Point of Access (SPA) team 
Human Resources team 
Clinical Effectiveness team 

Partnerships with the Community Award 

Angela Arnold  
Harvest View team 
Youth Forum 

Patient Safety Award 

Emily Hobbs, Zeena Tudor 
Katrina Brown, Matron – Community Nursing Services Icares 
Dr Darshana Sawant Dhaka, Locum Consultant Anaesthesia, Amanda Jansen Van Vuuren, Connor Brown, Mat Macdonald 

Patients Choice Award 

Lyndon 2 team 
Helen Taylor 
Ophthalmology Ward team 

Prize for Transformation and Research 

Training and Development Breast Imaging team 
Dr Kristina Diridis 
Radiopharmacy team 

Rising Star of the Year Award 

Cara Shelton 
Emma Bessant 
Yvonne Copeland  

Sustainability Award 

Clare Nash 
Cardiac Cath Lab team 
Dr Darshana Sawant Dhaka, Locum Consultant Anaesthesia 

Volunteer of the Year Award 

Bally (Balvir) Barquer 
Brian Guest  
Elizabeth Johnston