Meet the winners (2020)

The Star Awards 2020 recognises the hard work and dedication of colleagues’ right across our Trust this year.

The ceremony was a digital event, which could be viewed by staff in their work areas and homes and was hosted by ITV weatherman Des Coleman, who is also a former Eastenders star.

This year we received the largest number of nominations in the history of the Star Awards – over 700. Nominations included acts of kindness and stories of overcoming hurdles to provide outstanding leadership. Each nomination had a common thread – our organisation has some remarkable people working here.

Congratulations to everybody that was shortlisted and to all of our winners. Their dedication and hard work make our Trust a special place to work.


  • 2020 vision prize for Integrated Care Pioneer of the Year – Discharge Enablement Team/Palliative Care Service
  • Award for Equality and Diversity Champion – Alison Byrne
  • Digital Leader of the Year – Joanne Bryer
  • Distinguished Service Award – Nick Sherwood
  • Excellence in Education Prize – Clair Millard
  • Excellence in Research Prize – Research and Development Team
  • Fundraiser of the Year – Nick Makwana
  • Learner of the Year – Max Newbould
  • New Leader – Maria Atkinson (Joint Winner) Amirah Sheikh (Joint winner)
  • Patient Safety Award – Learning from Deaths Committee
  • Prize for Innovation – Junior Doctors’ Wellbeing Hub/Sanctuary
  • The Green Award (sponsored by Tusker) – Alcohol Care Team
  • Volunteer of the Year – Kamal (Kay) Deep
  • Clinical Team of the Year (Adults) – Palliative Care Team
  • Clinical Team of the Year (Children) – Neonatal Unit
  • Non-Clinical Team of the Year (sponsored by Engie) – Portering Team
  • Employee of the Year – Edward Fogden
  • Quality of Care Award – Gynaecology team
  • Chairman’s Award for Notable Contribution to the Local Health and Social Care System – Imran Zaman
  • Local Primary Care Award for the Most Valued Service in the Trust – Community COVID-19 Testing Team

If you missed or want to re-watch the ceremony it can be found on our YouTube channel:

You can find out all about the finalists by clicking here.