The Star Awards 2015


The Sandwell and West Birmingham Hospitals NHS Trust staff awards, recognise the brilliant work that our 7500 staff carry out 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at our hospitals and in the Community.

The theme of the 2015 awards represented cultural diversity, something that is represented highly in our Trust and the community that we work within. With six new awards added to the 2015 awards, the Sandwell and West Birmingham Hospitals staff awards 2015 were the biggest and best to date. The awards were launched on Monday 27th April by our Chief Executive Toby Lewis, and nominations closed on Thursday 9th July.

The award winners were announced at the awards ceremony on Friday 16th October.

A big thank you to our sponsors for supporting the 2015 Staff Awards.

Abena kvadrat blaa Capita Capsticks_logo_CMYK HayGroup_Logo_BlueTab_RGBcharity

The winners of each award can be found below.

For more information about our award winners, click here.

Employee of the Year sponsored by The Trust Charity


Joanne Peasley, Macmillan Occupational Therapy Assistant Practitioner

Chairman’s award for notable contribution to the local health and social care system


Caroline Rennalls, Head of Capacity

Clinical Team of the Year for Adults



Clinical Team of the Year for Children


Children’s Therapy Service

Non – Clinical Team of the Year


Out of Hours Domestic Team, Sandwell Hospital

Compassion in Care Award


Jenny Oliver, Healthcare Assistant, Alpha Suite

Local Primary Care Award for the Most Valued Service in the Trust (nominated by GPs)


Leasowes Intermediate Care Service

Integrated Care Pioneer of the Year Award


Susan Irwin, Diabetes Specialist Nurse, City Hospital.

Distinguished Service Award


Professor David Luesley, Professor of Gynaecological Oncology

Equality and Diversity Champions


Homeless TB Team – TB Screening Programme

Excellence in Research Award


Dr Kathryn Gill, Consultant Colorectal Surgeon

Dr Sissi Ispoglou, Consultant Stroke Physician

Learner of the Year Award


Alimaa Rafaq, Apprentice

Excellence in Education


Live and Work Project

Prize for Best Innovation



Team Leader of the Year Award


Steven Hill, Security Team Leader

Leader of the Year Award sponsored by Hay Group


Terry Cordrey, Therapy Lead Rapid Response Therapy Service

New Leader Award


Nicola Taylor, Diabetes Clinical Manager

Patient Safety Award


BMEC Theatre Team

Beacon Awards


The FINCH Service


The Stroke Service

Special Recognition Award – Flu Fighter


Stuart Young

Simerjit Rai

For more information about our awards winners, click here.